What are the top book recommendations for 'the act of writing'?

We found 1364 book recommendations

Readers also searched for:
romance audiobook disturbing books female authors fake dating contemporary romance unreliable narrator
Book Recommendations
Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 1364
#1

ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE'S TOP 100 NONFICTION BOOKS OF ALL TIME

"Long live the King" hailed Entertainment Weekly upon publication of Stephen King's On Writing. Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb vol... More details on On Writing

A year or so later, my mother, my brother, and I were in West De Pere, Wisconsin. I don’t know why. Another of my mother’s sisters, Cal (a WAAC beauty queen during World War II), lived in Wisconsin wi...
Save As:
Rate It:
#2

Three Steps on the Ladder of Writing is a poetic, insightful, and ultimately moving exploration of 'the strange science of writing.' In a magnetic, irresistible narrative, Cixous reflects on the writing process and explores three distinct areas esse... More details on Three Steps on the Ladder of Writing

Save As:
Rate It:
#3

Just because Kate 'Middleton' McGrath, wants a man to call 'daddy' in bed doesn't mean-

Oh, you stopped reading. Cool.

Kate gets it. Kinks aren't for everyone. Hell, they're probably not for Mr. Henderson, her grumpaholic boss. She really shouldn't... More details on Act Your Age

The pub was almost empty. Gone were the families, older couples, and tourists, all that remained were the degenerates who wanted to get off their heads on a Wednesday night: uni students, labourers, a...
Save As:
Rate It:
#4

What do readers say about Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone?

fun book fantasy stories wonderfully witty and short twists and turns

Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to atten... More details on Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much. They were the last people you’d expect to be involved in anything strange or...
Save As:
Rate It:
#5

Romance takes center stage as West End theatre's Richard Troy steps out with none other than castmate Lainie Graham

"Lucy Parker's books are all fabulous. Her writing voice never fails to make me giggle, while the chemistry between her characters mak... More details on Act Like It

Almost every night, between nine and ten past, Lainie Graham passionately kissed her ex-boyfriend. She was then gruesomely dead by ten o’clock, stabbed through the neck by a jealous rival. If she was ...
Save As:
Rate It:
#6

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings, Book One of the Stormlight Archive begins an incredible new saga of epic proportion.

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep acro... More details on The Way of Kings

“You’ve killed me. Bastards, you’ve killed me! While the sun is still hot, I die!” —Collected on the fifth day of the week Chach of the month Betab of the year 1171, ten seconds before death. Subject ...
Save As:
Rate It:
#7

A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of China's twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Liu's Grace of Kings and N.... More details on The Poppy War

Rin crossed her arms tightly across her chest and walked toward the second proctor. She was led behind a screen, patted thoroughly to make sure she hadn’t packed test materials up any orifices, and th...
Save As:
Rate It:
#8

The first novel in the First Law Trilogy and debut fantasy novel from New York Times bestseller, Joe Abercrombie.

Logen Ninefingers, infamous barbarian, has finally run out of luck. Caught in one feud too many, he's on the verge of becoming a dead ba... More details on The Blade Itself

Logen opened his eyes a crack. Light, blurry bright through leaves. This was death? Then why did it hurt so much? His whole left side was throbbing. He tried to take a proper breath, choked, coughed u...
Save As:
Rate It:
#9

What do readers say about The Song of Achilles?

breathtakingly beautiful authentic-sounding prose a retelling homeric

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the... More details on The Song of Achilles

MY FATHER WAS A KING AND THE SON OF KINGS. HE was a short man, as most of us were, and built like a bull, all shoulders. He married my mother when she was fourteen and sworn by the priestess to be fru...
Save As:
Rate It:
#10

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

In this modern classic, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author explores the incomprehensible depths of madness and captures the insanity of violence in our time or any other.

Patrick Bateman moves among the young ... More details on American Psycho

ABANDON ALL HOPE YE WHO ENTER HERE is scrawled in blood red lettering on the side of the Chemical Bank near the corner of Eleventh and First and is in print large enough to be seen from the backseat o...
Save As:
Rate It:
Page 1 of 137Next Page
Poor experience?
Please Help Us Improve
Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.