What are the most 'exciting nonfiction' books?

We have 2267 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing books 1 - 10 of 2267

#1

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The true tale of the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago and the cunning serial killer who used the magic and majesty of the fair to lure his victims to their death.

"Relentlessly fuses history and entertainment to give this nonf... Read more about The Devil in the White City

#2

If anyone could be considered a Russian counterpart to the infamous British double-agent Kim Philby, it was Oleg Gordievsky. The son of two KGB agents and the product of the best Soviet institutions, the savvy, sophisticated Gordievsky grew to see hi... Read more about The Spy and the Traitor

#3

The definitive history of the Cold War and its impact around the world

We tend to think of the Cold War as a bounded conflict: a clash of two superpowers, the United States and the Soviet Union, born out of the ashes of World War II and coming to a ... Read more about The Cold War

#4

Shots rang out in Savannah's grandest mansion in the misty,early morning hours of May 2, 1981. Was it murder or self-defense? For nearly a decade, the shooting and its aftermath reverberated throughout this hauntingly beautiful city of moss-hung oaks... Read more about Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

#5

A Washington Post Notable Book of the Year

It was the height of the Cold War, and a dangerous time to be stationed in the Soviet Union. One evening, while the chief of the CIA's Moscow station was filling his gas tank, a stranger approached and drop... Read more about The Billion Dollar Spy

#6

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Empire of Pain-a stunning, intricate narrative about a notorious killing in Northern Ireland and its devastating repercussi... Read more about Say Nothing

#7

The chilling true crime 'non-fiction novel' that made Truman Capote's name, In Cold Blood is a seminal work of modern prose, a remarkable synthesis of journalistic skill and powerfully evocative narrative published in Penguin Modern Classics.

Controv... Read more about In Cold Blood

#8

As heard on NPR's This American Life

"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." -Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." ... Read more about The Feather Thief

#9

New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery-and mak... Read more about Shadow Divers

#10

National Bestseller

"A harrowing tale of the perils of high-altitude climbing, a story of bad luck and worse judgment and of heartbreaking heroism." -PEOPLE

A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer J... Read more about Into Thin Air

Page 1 of 227Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.