What are the most 'exciting nonfiction' books?

We found 2350 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
murder mysterytrue crimeheistmemoirsdisturbing booksnonfictionhistory
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 2350

#1

What do readers say about The Devil in the White City?

easy to digestmystery and intrigue

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The true tale of the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago and the cunning serial killer who used the magic and majesty of the fair to lure his victims to their death.

"Relentlessly fuses history and entertainment to give this nonf... Read more about The Devil in the White City

THE DATE WAS APRIL 14, 1912, a sinister day in maritime history, but of course the man in suite 63–65, shelter deck C, did not yet know it. What he did know was that his foot hurt badly, more than he ...

#2

What do readers say about The Spy and the Traitor?

fantasticwell-researched and written

If anyone could be considered a Russian counterpart to the infamous British double-agent Kim Philby, it was Oleg Gordievsky. The son of two KGB agents and the product of the best Soviet institutions, the savvy, sophisticated Gordievsky grew to see hi... Read more about The Spy and the Traitor

Oleg Gordievsky was born into the KGB: shaped by it, loved by it, twisted, damaged, and very nearly destroyed by it. The Soviet spy service was in his heart and in his blood. His father worked for the...

#3

What do readers say about The Cold War?

long and fascinatinga fascinating memoir

The definitive history of the Cold War and its impact around the world

We tend to think of the Cold War as a bounded conflict: a clash of two superpowers, the United States and the Soviet Union, born out of the ashes of World War II and coming to a ... Read more about The Cold War

The Cold War originated in two processes that took place around the turn of the twentieth century. One was the transformation of the United States and Russia into two supercharged empires with a growi...

#4

What do readers say about Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil?

a real-life murdernonfiction crime novel

Shots rang out in Savannah's grandest mansion in the misty,early morning hours of May 2, 1981. Was it murder or self-defense? For nearly a decade, the shooting and its aftermath reverberated throughout this hauntingly beautiful city of moss-hung oaks... Read more about Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

I had heard Jim Williams’s name mentioned often during the six months I had lived in Savannah. The house was one reason, but there were others. He was a successful dealer in antiques and a restorer of...

#5

What do readers say about The Billion Dollar Spy?

true life thrillera heartbreaking story

A Washington Post Notable Book of the Year

It was the height of the Cold War, and a dangerous time to be stationed in the Soviet Union. One evening, while the chief of the CIA's Moscow station was filling his gas tank, a stranger approached and drop... Read more about The Billion Dollar Spy

He was the most successful and valued agent the United States had run inside the Soviet Union in two decades. His documents and drawings had unlocked the secrets of Soviet radar and revealed sensitive...

#6

What do readers say about Say Nothing?

well-researched and writtena necessary, tragic book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Empire of Pain-a stunning, intricate narrative about a notorious killing in Northern Ireland and its devastating repercussi... Read more about Say Nothing

Jean McConville was thirty-eight when she disappeared, and she had spent nearly half her life either pregnant or recovering from childbirth. She brought fourteen children to term and lost four of them...

#7

What do readers say about In Cold Blood?

journalistic & documentarypure and simple

The chilling true crime 'non-fiction novel' that made Truman Capote's name, In Cold Blood is a seminal work of modern prose, a remarkable synthesis of journalistic skill and powerfully evocative narrative published in Penguin Modern Classics.

Controv... Read more about In Cold Blood

The village of Holcomb stands on the high wheat plains of western Kansas, a lonesome area that other Kansans call “out there.” Some seventy miles east of the Colorado border, the countryside, with its...

#8

What do readers say about The Feather Thief?

fly-tying and greedmystery without a murder

As heard on NPR's This American Life

"Absorbing . . . Though it's non-fiction, The Feather Thief contains many of the elements of a classic thriller." -Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air

"One of the most peculiar and memorable true-crime books ever." ... Read more about The Feather Thief

By the time Edwin Rist stepped off the train onto the platform at Tring, forty miles north of London, it was already quite late. The residents of the sleepy town had finished their suppers; the little...

#9

What do readers say about Shadow Divers?

two deep-sea wreck diversdeep sea diving

New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger's The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery-and mak... Read more about Shadow Divers

BILL NAGLE’S LIFE CHANGED the day a fisherman sat beside him in a ramshackle bar and told him about a mystery he had found lying at the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean. Against his better judgment, that ...

#10

What do readers say about Into Thin Air?

suspenseful real-life thrillera classic page-turner

National Bestseller

"A harrowing tale of the perils of high-altitude climbing, a story of bad luck and worse judgment and of heartbreaking heroism." -PEOPLE

A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer J... Read more about Into Thin Air

Rob Hall New Zealand, leader and head guide Mike Groom Australia, guide Andy “Harold” Harris New Zealand, guide Helen Wilton New Zealand, Base Camp manager Dr. Caroline Mackenzie New Zealand, Base Cam...

Page 1 of 235Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.