What are the best 'alternate history' books?

We found 1805 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
female authorsfaeinteresting magic systemsmilitary scifireincarnationdragons
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 1805

#1

What do readers say about The Man in the High Castle?

sharp, clear prosea book of ideas

NOW AN AMAZON ORIGINAL SERIES

'Truth, she thought. As terrible as death. But harder to find.'

America, fifteen years after the end of the Second World War. The winning Axis powers have divided their spoils: the Nazis control New York, while Californi... Read more about The Man in the High Castle

For a week Mr. R. Childan had been anxiously watching the mail. But the valuable shipment from the Rocky Mountain States had not arrived. As he opened up his store on Friday morning and saw only lette...

#2

What do readers say about Fatherland?

suspenseful, thoughtful and insightfula good thriller

The New York Times bestselling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II-for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle

Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from t... Read more about Fatherland

THICK CLOUD HAD pressed down on Berlin all night, and now it was lingering into what passed for the morning. On the city’s western outskirts, plumes of rain drifted across the surface of Lake Havel, l...

#3

What do readers say about The Years of Rice and Salt?

alternate history scifi novelan alternate history

With the same unique vision that brought his now classic Mars trilogy to vivid life, bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson boldly imagines an alternate history of the last seven hundred years. In his grandest work yet, the acclaimed storyteller con... Read more about The Years of Rice and Salt

Now he had taken on the form of a small Mongol named Bold Bardash, horseman in the army of Temur the Lame. Son of a Tibetan salt trader and a Mongol innkeeper and spirit woman, and thus a traveller fr...

#4

What do readers say about The Plot Against America?

engaging and straightforwardinteresting and engaging

Philip Roth's bestselling alternate history novel-the chilling story of what happens to one family when America elects a charismatic, isolationist president-is now an HBO limited series.

In an extraordinary feat of narrative invention, Philip Roth im... Read more about The Plot Against America

Fear presides over these memories, a perpetual fear. Of course no childhood is without its terrors, yet I wonder if I would have been a less frightened boy if Lindbergh hadn't been president or if I h...

#5

What do readers say about The Guns of the South?

alternate history fictionthe cival war

"It is absolutely unique-without question the most fascinating Civil War novel I have ever read."

Professor James M. McPherson

Pultizer Prize-winning BATTLE CRY OF FREEDOM

January 1864-General Robert E. Lee faces defeat. The Army of Northern Virginia... Read more about The Guns of the South

Headquarters January 20, 1864 Mr. President: I have delayed replying to your letter of the 4th until the time arrived for the execution of the attempt on New Berne. I regret very much that the boats o...

#6

What do readers say about 1632?

30 year warpositive, optimistic and simple

FREEDOM AND JUSTICE - AMERICAN STYLE

1632 And in northern Germany things couldn't get much worse. Famine. Disease. Religous war laying waste the cities. Only the aristocrats remained relatively unscathed; for the peasants, death was a mercy.

2000... Read more about 1632

Mike ducked, hunched. James Nichols' reaction was more dramatic. "Incoming!" he yelped, flinging himself to the floor and covering his head with his arms. He seemed utterly oblivious to any possible d...

#7

What do readers say about His Majesty's Dragon?

a fabulous seriesfantasy-adventure story

In the first novel of the New York Times bestselling Temeraire series, a rare bond is formed between a young man and a dragon, and together they must battle in the Napoleonic Wars.

"A terrifically entertaining fantasy novel."-Stephen King

Aerial comb... Read more about His Majesty's Dragon

THE DECK OF the French ship was slippery with blood, heaving in the choppy sea; a stroke might as easily bring down the man making it as the intended target. Laurence did not have time in the heat of ...

#8

What do readers say about The Yiddish Policemen's Union?

noir detective novelinteresting and visual

For sixty years, Jewish refugees and their descendants have prospered in the Federal District of Sitka, a "temporary" safe haven created in the wake of revelations of the Holocaust and the shocking 1948 collapse of the fledgling state of Israel. Prou... Read more about The Yiddish Policemen's Union

Nine months Landsman's been flopping at the Hotel Zamenhof without any of his fellow residents managing to get themselves murdered. Now somebody has put a bullet in the brain of the occupant of 208, a...

#9

What do readers say about Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell?

imaginative, immersive storyjealousy, ambition, and loss

In the Hugo-award winning, epic New York Times Bestseller and basis for the BBC miniseries, two men change England's history when they bring magic back into the world.

In the midst of the Napoleonic Wars in 1806, most people believe magic to have lo... Read more about Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

They were gentleman-magicians, which is to say they had never harmed any one by magic – nor ever done any one the slightest good. In fact, to own the truth, not one of these magicians had ever cast th...

#10

What do readers say about In the Balance?

alternate history fictionsatirical and grotesque

Suppose Roosevelt, Stalin, Churchill, Hitler, and Hirohito had united to conquer an even greater foe?

No one could top their power-not the Germans, not the Japanese, not the Russians, not the United States.

From Pearl Harbor to panzers rolling throug... Read more about In the Balance

Fleetlord Atvar strode briskly into the command station of the invasion fleet bannership 127th Emperor Hetto. Officers stiffened in their seats as he came in. But for the way his eye turrets swiveled ...

Page 1 of 181Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.