What are the best 'alternate history' books?

We have 1647 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing books 1 - 10 of 1647

#1

NOW AN AMAZON ORIGINAL SERIES

'Truth, she thought. As terrible as death. But harder to find.'

America, fifteen years after the end of the Second World War. The winning Axis powers have divided their spoils: the Nazis control New York, while Californi... Read more about The Man in the High Castle

#2

The New York Times bestselling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II-for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle

Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from t... Read more about Fatherland

#3

With the same unique vision that brought his now classic Mars trilogy to vivid life, bestselling author Kim Stanley Robinson boldly imagines an alternate history of the last seven hundred years. In his grandest work yet, the acclaimed storyteller con... Read more about The Years of Rice and Salt

#4

Philip Roth's bestselling alternate history novel-the chilling story of what happens to one family when America elects a charismatic, isolationist president-is now an HBO limited series.

In an extraordinary feat of narrative invention, Philip Roth im... Read more about The Plot Against America

#5

"It is absolutely unique-without question the most fascinating Civil War novel I have ever read."

Professor James M. McPherson

Pultizer Prize-winning BATTLE CRY OF FREEDOM

January 1864-General Robert E. Lee faces defeat. The Army of Northern Virginia... Read more about The Guns of the South

#6

FREEDOM AND JUSTICE - AMERICAN STYLE

1632 And in northern Germany things couldn't get much worse. Famine. Disease. Religous war laying waste the cities. Only the aristocrats remained relatively unscathed; for the peasants, death was a mercy.

2000... Read more about 1632

#7

For sixty years, Jewish refugees and their descendants have prospered in the Federal District of Sitka, a "temporary" safe haven created in the wake of revelations of the Holocaust and the shocking 1948 collapse of the fledgling state of Israel. Prou... Read more about The Yiddish Policemen's Union

#8

In the first novel of the New York Times bestselling Temeraire series, a rare bond is formed between a young man and a dragon, and together they must battle in the Napoleonic Wars.

"A terrifically entertaining fantasy novel."-Stephen King

Aerial comb... Read more about His Majesty's Dragon

#9

In the Hugo-award winning, epic New York Times Bestseller and basis for the BBC miniseries, two men change England's history when they bring magic back into the world.

In the midst of the Napoleonic Wars in 1806, most people believe magic to have lo... Read more about Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

#10

"Utterly engaging…a page-turner that is certain to win the author legions of new readers and fans."-George R. R. Martin, author of A Game of Thrones

It's spring on Nantucket and everything is perfectly normal, until a sudden storm blankets the entire... Read more about Island in the Sea of Time

Page 1 of 165Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.